Weekly Wednesday Wrapup: Top picks from my Flickr contacts


Once again, here’s a quick roundup of some (only a very few) of the best work contributed to Flickr by my contacts in the past week.

All of the images lead back to Flickr. I encourage you to follow  them all, and browse through the artists’ photostreams. Leave them some comments.

Often the attachment is scarcely perceptible.Often the attachment is scarcely perceptible, Cat Klein.

A simple, classic subject. Two things here really appeal to me – the variety of lines, from the web to the twigs to the soft unfocused sticks in the background, and the colours.

 

The Urban Landscape.
The urban landscape, Diego Lasso

For some time now Diego has been running a series on power lines. They are ingenious. By combining only sky and the plainest of subjects, we are left with pure composition. Diego is so skilled with the use of line and balance.

S
S, Gaby Vicent

Hey, I know that kid! There is such a great sense of scale in this shot, and it is complemented by the blur of Gaby’s Lensbaby. I’m lucky to be part of a great group of photographers who meet every month. One of the perks of this is so many great photos of my kids get taken.

327/2011: Last Days of Autumn
Last Days of Autumn, Takahiro Yamamoto
Takahiro often focuses on natural subjects, for which he has a good eye. This is simply a classic composition, and the colours are just beautiful. The light is used so well, you can almost feel what it is like to be there.

Docklands
Docklands, Roberts Birze

The new Holga panoramic camera! I want one! I want to be able to do something like this with it! But I doubt I could. This is such fantastic use of multiple exposure.

*
*, Chris (Skippymarv)
Chris has a great eye, and does some excellent work with lo-fi film cameras. I’m not sure whether this is actual solarisation or whether he’s played with the levels after the event, but I love the confusion of tones in a sharp composition. Intriguing.

As always, which of these shots appeals to you the most, and what do you have to say about them?

About postdigitalblog

Lecturer in Multimedia at CQUni Wrangler of young kids @ home in Yeppoon Otherwise, photographer and digital media type.
This entry was posted in flickr, photography, visual art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Wednesday Wrapup: Top picks from my Flickr contacts

  1. eremophila says:

    I love the array you’ve chosen, mostly for the differences they offer to the usual range seen. Docklands takes the cake for that reason, even though I’m not usually drawn to cityscapes.

  2. ceciliag says:

    great line up.. love the power lines! c

  3. gaby says:

    ahhhhhhhhhhhh thank you!
    that day, the causeway day, was one of the best days. not because of the people (I feel it is always great) but because of the light. that gray almost brown sky was just incredible.
    thank you brendan.
    I was reading about the holga pano a couple of days ago and even when I do not really want want, i thought you might.
    i am going to send you the link to someone i just crossed swimming in flickr.
    you will love that stream.
    thanks again,
    gaby

    • I asked Holga to send me one to review. There is never any harm in asking. Nothing happened though! It looks good, especially when it has two flashes. but it is by necessity a different lens, and I think a little more normal, but I do want to try it.

  4. yi-ching lin says:

    very lovely share! thank you for compiling them! cheers, y

Leave a Reply

