Bored, bored, bored at a very interesting place


Family holidays are about compromise. Maybe there are families out there who all enjoy the same thing, but I don’t think I’m part of one.

I was very glad I had my camera when we visited the Air Museum.

The Air Museum in Caloundra is a very impressive. I don’t know what the collective noun is for aeroplanes, but whatever it is, this is a big one. They’re in good condition, you can get very close, even inside some of them. There’s lots of information. And some really old planes, some of which were quite famous:

and some of which were quite old:

My son was in paradise! He could have stayed for days. It certainly felt that we did. His favorite part of the exhibition was the P51 Mustang. There are probably only about 100 of them in the world, he reckons, so we were lucky to see them.

I thought the construction of the hangar was interesting.

Structure

Hangarline

 

My son was very excited by the Sopwith Camels! He says there are only ten in the world, so we were very, very, lucky to see them. I remember them from Snoopy cartoons as a kid, and I thought the hangar they were in was a little nicer than the other hangar.

The other hangar

For days after, we would hear excited talk about the planes, and how one of them even had bullet holes!

I liked the rivets, myself, and they way they traced out lines and shapes that had their own logic, not always paying any regard to shape or contour, and certainly not talking to whoever designed the paint jobs.

Rivetflag

As my mother-in-law often says, boredom is a judgement you pass on yourself.

About postdigitalblog

Lecturer in Multimedia at CQUni Wrangler of young kids @ home in Yeppoon Otherwise, photographer and digital media type.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bored, bored, bored at a very interesting place

  1. ceciliag says:

    Oh yes! I see you were very excited about the planes! Not. However you love good strong lines don’t you.. c

Leave a Reply

